Feed on
Posts
Comments

This picture pretty much sums up Vampire Knight.
PG-16 for violence and loads of sexiness; official series website (manga)

(Note: I have to spoil the first volume or two of the manga with this review, but don’t worry – this manga is nothing but reveals. There’s a spoiler every other chapter.)

Every girl and her dog – and in some cases, her brother as well – loves Vampire Knight. The manga’s sold a billion copies, a second season of anime will be making its appearance in the fall, and the number of Yuuki cosplayers who nearly killed NotHayama at Anime North in order to get copies of Volume #4 was both telling and disturbing.

That’s because Vampire Knight is Melodrama Porn. Just like those old martial arts films from the 70′s are King Fu Porn and those “how-to” dessert magazines at the grocery check-out are Food Porn.

The premise of Vampire Knight and the first few opening pages are so painfully, mind-numbingly stupid that I had to physically put the book down the first time I read it; all the blood in my body was diverted to slapping my hand against my forehead as hard and as quickly as possibly. Cross Academy is a boarding high school with normal students during the day, and ONLY SEXY VAMPIRES at night. The SEXY VAMPIRES are part of a program that gives vampires medicine to replace their need for sucking blood, and that, combined with their ethics teacher being an ex-vampire hunter with an eye patch, is supposed to help them become an active part of human society at some point. The only two human students who know about the night class are Yuuki, our heroine who’s in love with night class vampire leader Kaname, and Zero, a perpetually tortured bishounen who hates vampires and keeps taking his shirt off in front of Yuuki.

There are a bunch of other SEXY VAMPIRES and a few other humans in the series, but they’re not important – the point of Vampire Knight is for Yuuki, Kaname, and Zero to be involved in the most gasp-worthy, gut-wrenching love triangle EVAR. Kaname saved Yuuki from a much more evil vampire when she was a child, so she’s in love with him, but he’s a gentleman vampire who won’t bite her no matter how much he wants to. Zero comes from a family of vampire hunters, and since a vampire killed his family, he hates vampires more than anything – and thus hates Kaname. But Zero was also bitten by a pureblood vampire, so he’s turning into a mindless vampire himself, meaning he’s physically and emotionally tortured 24-7. Yuuki’s his friend, and they have sexual tension, but she also has sexual tension with Kaname, who has mutual hatred (and sexual tension!) with Zero. Oh, and biting someone is the social equivalent of having sex with him/her, so of course there’s SEXY BITING going on all over the place against bathroom walls to cries of, “I can’t put my teeth in you.” “Do it – I want you to.”

I will admit that the way mangaka Matsuri Hino keeps the melodrama ball rolling is nothing short of brilliant. This manga is basically a dramatic, sexy shoujo series with all the non-awesome parts cut out. The stupid premise building and bad opening only last about a chapter – then it’s headfirst into Kaname’s smoldering gazes and Zero hugging his naked body and screaming about how he’s a monster, what has he done, damn you, vampires. Even though the series is just about the Triangle of Sexy, the horde of side characters aren’t incongruous like in many shoujo – they step in when more characters are needed, filling in exposition, taking care of the boring off-screen stuff, and even slowly taking place in the plot in a fluid and comfortable way. That was the first thing that surprised me.

The second thing that surprised me is how successful the sexiness is. It is perfectly attuned to the teenage girl sex drive. Don’t believe everything the media tells you – some teenage girls have sex, but lots are just interested in sex in theory. They want boys, and they want sex, but not actually. That’s exactly what Vampire Knight gives them – boys, and sex, but not actually. Characters get into states of undress without ever showing anything important, there are lingering touches and little licks, and forbidden SEXY BITING with all its emotional and social repercussions stands in for fooling around. Even those viewers who are interested in actual sex can appreciate the sexual tension, because we all know that things are sexiest when you don’t show/include everything.

And the third surprise? The potential for the melodrama is endless. After the million plot twists and reveals in season 1 of the anime, I asked NotHayama, “What could they possibly do next season?” And off the top of her head she listed about 15 SUPER DRAMATIC plot points that could start the very next episode. For a show that has almost no downtime between the drama, it rarely feels contrived. Matsuri Hino has put together a premise that can keep the Melodrama Porn quotient high enough for long enough to melt its captive audience into a collective pile of goo. And the goo will beg for more.

So yes, the school of normal students/SEXY VAMPIRES broke my brain with stupid. And yes, most everything in the series is varying levels of silly. But for what it’s trying to do, Vampire Knight does it better than anything else I’ve ever seen.

Educated impression: You’ll probably die for more of this series if you a.) have the sentimentality of a teenage girl, b.) are addicted to melodrama, c.) have even a vague interest in vampires, d.) find sexual tension an art, e.) want to see boys angst while wielding phallic guns at cute girls and other boys, f.) find any of the above hilarious. But if you want something serious and intelligent to read/watch, stay far, far away from the ridiculousness that is Vampire Knight. (Lianne)

85 Responses to “Vampire Knight Mini Review (manga/anime)”

  1. on 25 Jul 2008 at 10:49 am laurie

    finaly, some one answered my question why people like VK. I’ve read it, and I guess Im not in to melodrama porn ^^

  2. on 25 Jul 2008 at 12:24 pm Kuri

    A brilliant summary and well-said, not to mention enjoyably entertaining. Teenage girl love for VK exposed! I got bored with this series at volume 4 so I guess I only have so much of the mentioned attributes.

  3. on 25 Jul 2008 at 12:44 pm M.T.Copyright

    Ha ha you hit the nail on the head! yeah, I kept reading it up to 4 out of MORBID curiousity, any teenage girl who likes vamps and shojo’s MUST own this. Everyone else should pick it up to look at the nice art and snicker at the attempt at a serious dark toned ‘plot’. Meru Puri was the first thing I read from her, and I seriously think the woman should stick to magical comedy. But still all in all, very VERY good review.

  4. on 25 Jul 2008 at 8:39 pm Andre

    Wow, that really sums things up. Great review!

  5. on 26 Jul 2008 at 3:20 am Elizabeth

    You’ll probably die for more of this series if you a.) have the sentimentality of a teenage girl, b.) are addicted to melodrama, c.) have even a vague interest in vampires, d.) find sexual tension an art, e.) want to see boys angst while wielding phallic guns at cute girls and other boys, f.) find any of the above hilarious

    I love a, b, c, d, and f, and I still find Moto Hagio’s The Poe Clan is much more worth reading than VK.

    Great review btw, now I know why other girls love VK.

  6. on 26 Jul 2008 at 9:31 am nothayama

    Of course Moto Hagio’s works are more worth reading than Vampire Knight. Pretty much everything is more worth reading than Vampire Knight. The one and only purpose of Vampire Knight is to get a “squee” out of its audience. Whether or not someone likes it is entirely dependent on how much ridiculous they’re willing to buy from a series.

    My own experience with Vampire Knight went something like this:

    “Oh, poor Zero. That really suc– wait a minute! I’m being manipulated! Screw you, Vampire Knight!”

    Then I messed around on my computer instead of watching, and had Lianne fill me in on all the melodrama. How much you enjoy this show is really dependent on how much you’re willing to let yourself get sucked in by it. I couldn’t do it. A lot of the other people who’ve posted here couldn’t do it. But people who write about manga on the internet tend to go into it looking for meaning or things to critique, and those things don’t really work here.

  7. on 02 Aug 2008 at 9:28 am Lianne

    And yet despite how NotHayama feels about Vampire Knight, she still watched it with me when I was having a bad day. That’s a best friend right there.

    And it’s funny, but I recently caught up to the manga’s serialization in Japan, and all my references to Vampire Knight being melodramatic are no longer strong enough. If the first few volumes of the manga and first season of the anime are Melodrama Porn, then the rest of the series is…I can’t make a better metaphor without officially breaking our PG-13 policy on this site. Let’s just say the melodrama levels officially break into INSANE. And not in a bad way, either…things STILL feel completely believable within the universe; Matsuri Hino just knows how to think outside the box and make every reader scream with every chapter. No downtime, only SQUEE, and yet there’s a definitive plot moving forward. How can you do that? How can you possibly write a manga this insanely melodramatic without making it feel at all contrived? One of the chapters actually made me tear up? What the hell? I’m 26 years old and bitter!

    I don’t think this manga is brilliant by any means, but I certainly think Matsuri Hino is. Wait for the reveal about Kaname…it will blow your mind.

  8. on 10 Aug 2008 at 1:45 pm Humane

    I think I might be daft because I don’t feel a vampiric bite is anything near sexual. Maybe it’s because I bite my significant other too much.

    I really want to get into it some more but I find my pauses in between episodes getting longer and longer. Only at episode 7 now! I will mush on! MUSH!

  9. on 11 Aug 2008 at 12:55 am LadyUranus

    Oy… I totally agree and I fell for all of it. I read the first two volumes, found myself waiting in anticipation for the third, and then… Well, then VK started paying attention to the random non-Kaname vampires and since I didn’t really care enough to re-read the melodramatic but contentless volumes beforehand, I just got confused. I pay attention to the SQUEE moments and read the volumes as they come out in English, but I don’t feel good about it.

    And you could never get me to admit that I read VK in person.

  10. on 17 Aug 2008 at 4:56 pm Naru

    I still don’t get why people love it. I like you read the first volume and gave up. It was worse than Hot Gimmick, which at least made SENSE despite the stupid heroine. Maybe it is cuz’ I’m not a sexy vampire person? I love melodramatic shoujo manga with love triangles(Parfait Tic, anything by Miyuki Kitagawa) but c’mon. Vampire Knight is too silly.

  11. on 20 Aug 2008 at 11:42 pm SexC Russian

    You all are losers for thinking this anime is sexy!!!! It’s an anime in 2D and they all look like girls. Also, they have a scrawny bodies. I like a real man with a some meat on him. The bites are not sexy at all. I would not be surprised if most of you are virgins that watch this kind of BS anime instead of going out in real world and have fun and getting a real man. Get a life. Anyone can be sexy if they try, and can get a man.

  12. on 21 Aug 2008 at 11:25 am Bad Jew

    Not to respond to a troll, but:

    go to bed

  13. on 21 Sep 2008 at 10:07 am winny

    thanks for your review! i have been following vampire knight manga + anime for a while. i don’t like it but since i am not someone who drops animes and mangas, so most probably i will go along with the series till it ends.

    i don’t quite understand why are people (esp teenage girls) so crazy about this manga till i read your awesome review. personally, i don’t find the plot very captivating, and i guess i am one of the few who feels that the art in the anime (at least in the first few episodes) is better than the manga’s.one thing i find ridiculous was how Shizuka died…for a pureblood who tortured yuuki and gang for a few chapters, being killed so easily and unsuspectingly by kaname is unacceptable to me. as for the action scenes…yeah i know this is a shoujo manga, but i am more comfortable with shonen action.

    so now, i can finally put my feelings for VK in words. yeah, i am no longer a teenage girl and i am not into melodrama.

    i am sure there are followers of this series who disagree with me, but just putting in my two cents’ worth to VK.

  14. on 22 Sep 2008 at 7:12 am nounoune

    Well well, i’ve read all comments and i kinda said i’m really disappointed of how you analyze things, for me its just a question of taste you like it or not.
    Its not a matter of age especially for you Lianne
    because you refer it to teens or girls.
    Its not a matter of genre (porn)
    I like this series because the art is good, until now
    the story has a logic till now.
    Its a good idea to make reviews but you have to do it in a right way.
    At last as you talk about age sorry but beauty is the beast i cease reading after two chapters its too childish for me but i will say in fact that the story
    was not my cup of tea ……..
    PS:i’m 29

  15. on 22 Sep 2008 at 9:05 am Lianne

    …i’m really disappointed of how you analyze things, for me its just a question of taste you like it or not.

    Whoa! You did it, nounoune! Finally, the secret to all criticism!

    PEOPLE EITHER LIKE THINGS OR THEY DON’T!

    I guess there’s no reason to write reviews anymore. I can retire to my seaside palace at last, and spend the rest of my days enjoying things or not.

  16. on 24 Sep 2008 at 7:58 am nounoune

    i invite you to go to other blogs who don’t like VK and u will understand

  17. on 24 Sep 2008 at 12:45 pm Lianne

    I don’t really know what we’re arguing, nounoune. I love Vampire Knight. Plenty of people I know love Vampire Knight. Plenty of people I know HATE Vampire Knight. I tried to write a review summing up the appeal of Vampire Knight and why someone would love it OR hate it for that appeal.

  18. on 02 Oct 2008 at 3:12 am naika uriza

    that’s a point of view from a person who is not into melodrama and a teenage girl.. well.. there’s two side in every story.. point taken but why not try looking at the other point you have missed??

    vampire knight like any other animes has it’s own bad sides and good sides.. but then again we can’t deny that people who hate it or love it.. can’t stop it’s popularity nor being a hit maker already…

  19. on 19 Oct 2008 at 2:44 am Neko

    It’s either you like this series or not. Stop contradicting yourself and being a moron.
    It’s really hilarious to type so much just for your distaste in a series.
    Sure,it’s not perfect but it’s good in a sense.
    You obviously have issues to go so far and be so serious on the internet.
    Don’t like it?Get a life,will ya?
    8D

  20. on 21 Oct 2008 at 11:34 am Lianne

    Neko,

    Are you talking to me? That would be so funny! Because, y’know, I said I love Vampire Knight two posts before yours.

  21. on 26 Oct 2008 at 1:05 pm Sakura

    I felt bored when I watched the 1st episode.Reading this reveiw helped me to choose 2 continue or drop it.I guess I’ll drop it since I am not intrested in love triangles.
    THANK YOU for this awsome reveiw.

  22. on 27 Oct 2008 at 11:53 am SittingOntheFence

    I heard about Vampire Knight because of considerable buzz on the internet when it was just starting to show up…I read a few chapters. It didn’t really capture me, and I lost interest quickly, but you have the good points right there. I like lots of drama in my stories, and the plot twists certainly did leave me surprised…but overall, I can’t say I really adore it and wait for every update. I don’t HATE it, neither do I LOVE it.

    I just think it’s a considerably dark manga. Dark in themes, and it gave me lots to think about.

    I was never particularly drawn by the concept of vampires or blood, for that matter, but I think that several of the themes tackled in the story are great to sit and just think about.

    This review is becoming really long, so I’ll just leave it here. Thank you for a nice summation of the points in the manga. : )

    ~SittingOntheFence

  23. on 27 Oct 2008 at 6:22 pm Shona

    The SEXY VAMPIRE thing made me laugh. :) I agree with all of this!

  24. on 06 Nov 2008 at 3:54 pm Becca

    You are so right, I have thought all the things you said in this review in my head, but never as eloquently as you have. The whole teenage girls want “boys, sex, but not actually,” is a perfect way of putting it. That is why I like Shojo, but really the premise of this story is stupid… but I keep “begging for more.” lol great review

  25. on 13 Nov 2008 at 9:32 am Fahji

    Wow. This is why I love Sleep is For the Weak. It’s like you can read my mind!!

    Right Side of Brain: Wait, how many times does Yuuki throw herself in front of Zero’s gun? I’m sure she’s done it ten times more than she’s ever used her magic weapon!

    Left Side of Brain: DONT CAER TURN PAGE

  26. on 17 Nov 2008 at 7:07 pm Lianne

    Fahji:

    I think your joke works better if you reverse “right brain” and “left brain.” Although I would personally use “brain” and “thundering endorphins caused by OMG OMG OMG.”

    You bring up an excellent point–Yuuki has a magical weapon that can totally stop vampires and a bracelet that can totally stop Zero, yet Kaname easily bats aside her weapon, Zero easily glares at her and walks away when she tries to use her bracelet, and any time she LOOKS like she’s about to defend herself from a super evil vampire one of the boys steps in and defends her for no reason. I would normally be a little offended that a shoujo heroine who was clearly raised to defend herself rarely gets the chance to…but I know the mangaka didn’t intend to make Yuuki seem useless, but, rather, wanted to optimize the number of times her hot boys could prove how badass they are.

  27. on 30 Nov 2008 at 7:43 pm have fun trying to figur this out

    soooooooooooo anti vampire knight now are we?……..well i personally like vampire knight…true some fans (like me) go overbord but people liks diffent things and if you think that the question of whether you like the over all thing or not waz annoying, try goin through all the i love zero (which i do)or i love kaname or i cant deside thingz…….oh yeah and also try having it compared to “twilight”
    all of this is annoying…..

  28. on 14 Dec 2008 at 12:35 pm Sanzy

    Well, I am a fan of VK.. But I think it’s getting tiring.. especially the part where fans kill off each other for stupid reasons.. (=.=) I like the manga more than the anime though.. The art in the anime just doesn’t pull off for me..

    Anyways, I just wish it would finish soon.. *praying that her local tv station will not adopt the anime*

  29. on 16 Dec 2008 at 5:53 pm Bunny

    Lol, you’re review was hilarious. I enjoyed reading it even though I’m a fan of the series.
    Vampire Knight is personally my guilty pleasure but I’m starting to like it more for the developing story-line. The anime is alright ( though Yuuki looks like she has bug-eyes most of the time, it’s scary O__O )

    I thought the story improved in the long-run from the first volume ( the beginning was pretty cliched ) I just wished stupid Yuuki was more….tough and badass at the start of the series instead of the later…

  30. on 31 Dec 2008 at 7:23 pm rieklem

    hm. interesting. I like the manga… I’ve never watched the anime,so I can’t judge it.
    I don’t think I agree with you, but then again I could just be deranged female–I’m only 18 after all. It’s weird, I’ve never once thought of it as porn-like, but I agree that what makes it sexy is what’s suggested rather than actual sex. I think that idea is exactly true of a teenage girl’s mentality.
    I don’t really watch ANY anime or read manga so I really have nothing to compare it to. I just saw it online and read it. I’m not obsessed with it, I’m not dying to read the latest volume, nor did I have to read it all in one sitting. However I do like it and will continue to read it.
    Um… take it for what you will?

  31. on 18 Jan 2009 at 11:30 am melantho

    This review is SO MUCH FUN to read. It’s definitely in my top 3 favorite anime/manga reviews.

    I’ve never really been able to get into Vampire Knight, but the art is gorgeous in a shoujo-y way, and I can totally understand why it’s so popular.

  32. on 13 Mar 2009 at 11:21 pm Hana Terror

    I agree with Lianne totally but I am ADDICTED to vampire knight and the love triangle. Actually Yuuki could disappear off the face of the earth. Kaname and Zero are hottest together . I haven’t see the anime but I will admit I have read the first 6 volumes. OK I am not a teenage girl but I guess I must be one on the inside!

    Hana

  33. on 19 Mar 2009 at 6:10 pm Lianne

    Hana Terror:

    You’re not the only one who thinks the love is hottest without Yuuki getting in the way. (And yes, those last few words are a link.)

    For a fun time, mute that video and start up Tom Jones’s “Sex Bomb” the second the music video part starts. The song syncs up perfectly to the video and it’s the funniest thing you’ll ever see.

  34. on 29 Mar 2009 at 11:50 pm Shuijie

    Hey, it’s like Twilight! Boy(s?) and sex but not really.

  35. on 04 May 2009 at 12:03 pm BellaF

    Lianne, I don’t understand why if you love Vampire Knight so much, why your review has, in my view, fueled even more hatred towards Vk. Your review broke my heart. =(

  36. on 04 May 2009 at 2:32 pm Lianne

    Bella,

    Just tellin’ it how it is. First of all, this review wasn’t intended to be negative so much as it was intended to be blunt, and second of all, there’s a difference between liking something and writing a review that’s as objective as possible.

    I own this. I also own this. (Those were links.) But I still stand behind this review, because not everyone is me.

    And does Vampire Knight really have so much hatred toward it? It’s sold a bazillion copies both in the West and in Japan, and many critics (even those who don’t like it) at least admit that it deserves its popularity. Vampire Knight gets plenty of love, don’t you worry.

  37. on 16 May 2009 at 8:36 pm mikaela

    i agree too

  38. on 21 May 2009 at 5:43 pm Allie

    Ummmm ya….I love melodrama, but I apparently do not love melodrama porn. I just find this hard to read, and it lacks and trace of a real plot in my opinion. I think that Kaname is creepy, Yuuki has no personality, and Zero took tortured soul to such a level that you just kind of wish he would die, so he wouldn’t be so tortured so much. Plus, all the sexual stuff is so bloody. The worst thing about the whole thing is it has absolutely no comic relief, but it also isn’t the type of manga to make you cry, so it kind of leaves me with nothing. Just my two cents.

  39. on 24 May 2009 at 6:04 pm StormCrow

    I really loved reading this review. I love to see how other people see things. It helps me realize what I maybe didn’t see too. :) I laughed my head off when you said Zero couldn’t stop taking his shirt off in front of Yuki. Never looked at it like that, but you were so right. Lol. But anyways, after reading your review you really put something in perspective for me. I had been trying to figure out how to put into words why I like watching shows/movies like this. I find sexual tension an art. I also like the love triangle thing. Which since reading this review and replies have now watched Peach Girl. Lol. With that said, have any recommendations for me? I am always on the look out for anything with vamps in it too. :)

  40. on 04 Jun 2009 at 8:45 pm anonymous

    I borrowed volumes 1-2 from the library 2 years ago and I hated VK. It just seemed boring.

  41. on 12 Jul 2009 at 5:44 am melanie-chan.

    Nice review, and made me laugh.
    I’ve read the first two volumes of VK, and found the series interesting, but I was happy to leave it as I did; it didn’t make me wonder what happened next.

    I guessed correctly when I assumed Kaname and Yuuki would end up together (I’ve read Twilight, thus I’ve nailed the ‘I want to be with you but I can’t ‘cos I’m a vampire’ cliché), and only a few minor spoilers I’ve come across took me by surprise. Like how the mangaka approves of incest.

    I really love this website, as the reviews are entertaining.

  42. on 24 Jul 2009 at 4:32 pm Libb

    normally when I finished a realy good anime, I would read the manga to know more.

    but after I’m done with vk, I don’t get the urge to go read the manga. Over all the plot is kind of annoying.

    Yuuki cross is kind of a mary-sue since two hot guys pretty much loves her and she turn out to be a **SPOILER REMOVED BY MOD** or something like that.

    Then blah, blah, blah…Zero and his vampire problems…kaname wants to protect yuuki…and yuuki who keeps going, “kaname senpai! Zero!”

    and it’s suppose to be a dark anime. well… I didn’t feel down or sad by this supposedly “dark” anime because the dark part is cheeesy.
    I mean ofcourse, it’s always like:

    “when I was little my parents got killed” or something like that.

    Please, that always happens in most hero or heroine’s pasts in mangas.

  43. on 28 Jul 2009 at 12:24 pm Sandra

    Your review of VK and the reaction it has provoked makes me want to watch it just out of simple curiosity. I have tried reading the manga…but it doesn’t capture my attention that much (can’t get past vol 1)I will, however, give the anime series a shot…Thanks for the review!!!

  44. on 30 Jul 2009 at 5:45 pm misa-chan

    I disagreed with a lot said in this review. (VK IS NOT MELODRAMA PORN!) Personally, I think that it has interesting/semi-deep characters, an engaging plot, and fantastic artwork. Apparently, you people disagree. And in vol. 1, Matsuri Hino even admitted that this was her first try at a “serious” manga, and for a first try, it came out very well.

    I love all things vampire/dark/lolita/bloody, and yes I’m a teenage girl, so you will probably just nod your heads and say, “Yes, of course the nutty Twilight fan teenage girl is arguing in VK’s favor.”

    However, even you guys admitted that VK has a huge fanbase, and that it deserves it’s popularity. Which is true. In my opinion, the art is outstanding, some of the best I’ve ever seen. The plots that you people call cheesy I call good and interesting and dark.

    I really hate it when you call VK stupid. You want something intellectual, go read Deathnote. (Another very good manga) But for what it is, Vampire Knight is very good. So don’t diss it.

    I get very defensive/emotional/violent when people make fun of things I love like manga, and I was yelling at the computer while reading this review. Perhaps that means I shouldn’t go on the internet if I get offended so easily. But I still like to read what people have to say about this type of thing, and I know that after a day or two, I will stop yelling and go back to my life.

    Okay, that is the end of my rant/essay. You may now go on with your lives. :)

  45. on 31 Jul 2009 at 1:13 am Lianne

    misa-chan:

    “But for what it is, Vampire Knight is very good.”

    My review:

    “But for what it’s trying to do, Vampire Knight does it better than anything else I’ve ever seen.”

    Look how much we agree! We should be best friends forever.

  46. on 31 Jul 2009 at 8:24 am misa-chan

    “Lianne” – THANK YOU! I’m glad that there’s someone on this review that agrees.

  47. on 09 Aug 2009 at 2:01 pm Bell

    Haha, I mostly agree with this review, even though I personally was bored to tears watching the first season. Making melodrama + fanservicey ~SEXUAL TENSION~ + actual plot all work together is an achievement in itself… But looking at those aspects separately, none of it was compelling enough for me to really want to keep watching. Plus, I didn’t care for Kaname at all, which took a lot away from my viewing experience.

    …Or maybe my brain is too infected with the BL virus to get a kick out of any het anime that isn’t outright hentai. Oh, Japan, how you’ve changed me!

  48. on 24 Aug 2009 at 9:43 pm Michelle

    hahahhahhah,
    I can not even star to tell you how much I laughed.!!!
    And your review was very good toooo.

  49. on 04 Oct 2009 at 5:06 pm Diana Dang

    LOLZ is all I can say :D

  50. on 17 Oct 2009 at 5:04 pm angel

    I love it it’s great all you people who say it’s crap I don’t understand them I can’t belive they stopped doing vampire knight it’s so good why they had to end it on episode 13 i will never know but I think it’s good

  51. on 20 Oct 2009 at 9:48 am Sandra

    I LOVED Vampire Knight…Loved it! Still love it!!(^v^) for everything it is and then some…..Lianne, I give you kudos for giving an unbiased and honest review on something you actually enjoyed watching and liked very much too…That is what makes a good critic….

  52. on 12 Nov 2009 at 4:01 am Nanae

    Vampire Knight is very artistic and detailed when it comes to the illustrations. On the other hand, the plot could use more than a handful of originality. I gave up on the manga after 9 chapters but I can still say that the drawings still captures my attention.

    You are right though, the reason on why I lasted for quite some time is because of the sexy male characters. Though I thought the licking and stuff was just… Gross.

    Nanae.

  53. on 04 Jan 2010 at 11:38 am nicks

    personally, i dont like vampire knight, this review is great, it seems at this time and ages more people (esp. girls) are well attracted to the art and the guys hotness not by the story.. but the capture of the whole story is really just the ‘sexual scenes’..

    I prefer shounen more, i like harems of girls attracted to guys with ‘reasons’ not just like VK attracted to a characters lvoe at first sight or perhaps they just want to steal the girl- its not making sense at all

  54. on 12 Feb 2010 at 5:55 pm shawn

    I love this webpage

  55. on 15 Feb 2010 at 12:55 pm Misa-chan

    Honestly, I agree with Shawn. Everything you read on this site is funny, even if it can be (*cough* IS *cough*) slightly offensive to a favorite anime/manga.

  56. on 16 Feb 2010 at 8:30 pm Mercy Ventricty

    Dear Misa-Chan,

    From Your Little Rant, I Can Guess You Probably Are One Of The Few People Who Would Kill Everyone At My School – Except Maybe Me ;) AND I Believe You Are The Kind Who Rants At Their Cousins About Degrees Of Awesome-Ness ( You KNow Who This Is!)

    I Must Say That Even Though I’ve Only Been Reading Vampire Knight For About A Month, I Am Inspired By The Plot And Characters. (especially SENRI SHIKI

  57. on 16 Feb 2010 at 8:32 pm Mercy Ventricty

    also, Misa-Chan makes good points, because the only thing that is truly porn is porn itself

  58. on 28 Feb 2010 at 9:40 pm Twelve Blades

    i was actually reading this the other day during my science class and my teacher came up to me and asked me if i was reading “porn in the form of Japanese art” (yes,my teacher is that lame).
    my mother thinks all the vampires in this story are androgynous and cant tell the difference between Yuki and Kaname.

  59. on 01 Mar 2010 at 7:05 am jayvzie

    WOW!!!so many comments..but i like it though.hehehe…I love VK….

  60. on 24 Mar 2010 at 2:59 pm Silver

    Very funny review, I enjoyed reading it! :)

    As for me, I just recently looked up VK reviews and am admittedly surprised by the amount of critical reviews for the series despite its popularity. But to be honest, the reviews made me step back a bit and they actually make more sense than most fangirls’ cries of “oMg VK is the best you ppl need to get a life1!!”

    I was originally a huge fan of Vampire Knight. The art stole my breath away (as corny as that sounds) and I was attracted to the angst and dark themes/feeling of the manga. There were certain aspects that surpassed the average shoujo manga in terms of depth and development, and no, the average shoujo manga does not impress me. However, I admit VK is rather cliche in many aspects, especially the love triangle. Hino probably shouldn’t have focused SO MUCH on it. The VK triangle has created MONSTERS in fangirls and fans are so polarized there is not ONE VK forum I’ve dropped by in that didn’t have ZeroxYuuki and KanamexYuuki fans speaking condescendingly at each other (at best, if not ripping each other apart). Does a real masterpiece only bring out such negative emotions? Oh well, one the bright side, money!

    I was never really into any of the cast except Zero, though his character in the recent chapters has been pretty much killed by his own creator, sacrificed for the sake of convenience in plot. The other side characters were tolerable but not memorable to me. For some reason, I was always under the impression that Hino created Kaname as the Edward Cullen of her own fantasy, making him perfect and untouchable, as well as difficult to relate to (since we are hardly ever shown his thoughts/emotions). And GOD. Yuuki. I had high hopes for her character towards the introduction of the series, but clearly I was blind and 58 chapters later, she is still a helpless doll with minimal backbone. The recent chapter showed her sad attempt at showing she had one, but the execution left me rolling my eyes. Yuuki is probably one of the weakest, most disappointing heroines I’ve ever seen, and it’s especially sad because she had so much potential to begin with.

    In my own personal opinion, Hino lost control of her story after chapter 36. She bit off more than she could chew and character personalities and plot just flew out the window and down a cliff. While the first half of the manga was more cliche, it was better controlled and the characters were themselves. The second half has left me insanely disappointed, especially because Hino’s own creations are now unrecognizable. The only reason I still scan the new chapter summaries is pure, useless curiosity.

  61. on 14 May 2010 at 11:45 pm Layla

    WOW!!!I cant belive There are people out there that DONT like Vk!!! Thats the first!!! I mean The ART THATS WHAT I LIKED!!!But the storyline not so much but hey thats me every1 has there own opinionrite :) anyways the thing i hate most was yuuki (no offence) i mean HELLO!!! you have a sexy boy right next to you and your gonna go for kaname! Hello what about zero!!! >

  62. on 24 May 2010 at 5:00 pm shiki

    just a little short of hentai

  63. on 24 May 2010 at 8:29 pm Lianne

    just a little short of hentai

    Spoken like someone’s who’s clearly never seen hentai.

  64. on 26 May 2010 at 5:09 pm misa-chan

    Yeah, Lianne you have a point . . . *laughs* If we’re comparing VK to hentai, VK does not even categorize as fluff (in my humble opinion).

  65. on 20 Nov 2010 at 9:12 am Elest

    Dude, excellent review! Had me supressing chuckles till I near fell off my chair…and ignore anyone who’s wet-blanket enough to say otherwise (as well as that strange Russian person who encouraged everyone here to go out and get sex with random men…ewwww. Weirdo!)

    Any way, I started reading Vampire Knight back in 2008 after picking up a copy from Kinokuniya in Kuala Lumpur. No one I knew knew about it then and it was excellent! Then the anime came out and pissed on my proverbial fire. It is terrifically BAD -not sexy, melodrama not believable, animation second rate, characters flat, tenssion simply NOT THERE! If I were Hino Matsuri, I’d sue their asses!

    So yeah, since then I stopped reading the manga too. Hence why I stumble across your blog: the google search was something like this ‘Vampire Knight anime CRAP is Vampire Knight manga better?’

    Can someone answer this question for me? I left the story at Volume 6 and have had it spoiled a bit for me by the anime…just wonderring if it’s worth picking up again?

  66. on 24 Nov 2010 at 2:35 pm Marta

    Great review!
    The last days I’ve been wasting my time of watching this anime. The first season was pretty okay (I’m a love-sick teenage girl, though), and the second was both hilarious and generally terrible. While watching it, I was thinking “I’m such an idiot. Why, why am I watching this?”.
    After all – It seems like I’ve found one of my most disliked stories in manga.

  67. on 27 Nov 2010 at 9:42 pm riko

    I love this review lmaoo

  68. on 07 Dec 2010 at 4:02 am Amy

    Hahaha great review! I laughed so hard at the SEXY VAMPIRE parts. But I do confess, I always squeal when one of the guy vampires come on screen/page, but especially when Zero (and sometimes Kaname) appears because he is just soo HOT! Oh my, I’m becoming a deranged fangirl! :) )) I think it’s the eyes. When I see the manga the eyes just captivate me. Anyway, I really agree with the biting being socially equivilant to sex part. Everytime a vampire licks a neck and/or bites someone’s neck, a voice in my head just screams “SEX!!!”. I agree that Vampire Knight/Guilty has a weak plot, almost cliche, but somehow it just pulls me in. It must be the “unusually beautiful” vampires. Wait, I just answered my own question. :)

  69. on 09 Jan 2011 at 3:44 am LovelyIdiot

    **deleted for unnecessary teenage-girl-hating and spoilers**

  70. on 02 Mar 2011 at 9:51 pm MaryJane

    I love VK, I think this review sums it up perfectly. It’s silly but it’s all good fun!

  71. on 26 Apr 2011 at 11:52 pm flicka

    what do you think of kanama who is a vampire do you think he should marrie yuki or not?

  72. on 30 Jul 2011 at 1:35 am GG

    I personally loathe Vampire Knight very much. No joke.

    It was hate on first sight. The moment I saw the cover, with it’s Barbie-doll art and round pretty eyes, a feeling of repulsion came over me, but I figured I should keep an open mind and give it a go. and my God, half a volume in, I just put it down. I didn’t even read that closely on many parts, but the few scenes I did pay attention made me want to hurl it against the wall.

    Instead, I just put it back on the shelf, and walked away.

    You’d think I’d learn that mainstream manga is often overrated(e.g. Naruto), but even peeking inside a whole 100+ pages of something remotely resembling Twilight? In Shoujo Manga form? I must have been having a retard moment.

    Not to hate the people who like it, -and I have to respect you for making a unbiased review of something you love, Lianne- but it is my most honest opinion that this manga is really, really stupid.

  73. [...] turning into a vampire, fighting it every step of the way. Lianne Sentar has a great description of why Vampire Knight is so addictive (hint: SEXY VAMPIRES) at Sleep Is For the [...]

  74. on 26 Sep 2011 at 7:59 am anna

    i thinks it’s good to tell you the truth i read allot of manga and this manga only have twist,comedy,love triangle and shojo. if you just read it normaly you cant see what you see like (sex, sexy vampire and other.) ^^ and i love the drawing of all manga VK i thinks there nothing wrong about it ^^ and i think it depend on you if you put a meaning every scene ^^ but i think its bad because your judging the artist that making it ^^ it hard mo make a drawing and thinking what scene he would draw ^^ ty just my opinion

  75. on 08 Nov 2011 at 9:12 pm Potter

    Lianne, that was a great review. You summed up most of my feelings toward VK. I’ve loved VK for a long while and I’ve always wondered why, because it isn’t an exceptional plot. The teenage sex drive thing is SO true. Haha.

    Just to put it out there, the first chapter of VK came out a whole 10 months before Twilight was published. Hino very likely did not copy Meyer. Frankly, I think Twilight is superior to VK for a number of reasons. Won’t go into that now because that’s going to spark a whole new debate. Just wanted to bring up the fact that VK came first!

    Alright, enjoy your day. Lianne, once again, great review! Hope to see more :D

  76. on 26 Nov 2011 at 10:07 pm VKHater

    I agree completely! I just needed to hear some other people say “I HATE VAMPIRE KNIGHT!” after listening to my friend babble on about how great it is. Thanks! You made my day!

  77. on 01 Dec 2011 at 1:41 pm Tessie

    It’s a pretty good review, but VK Lovers will surely flinch at this, lol. Well, I pretty much
    like Vampire Knight, because of the story, it’s not all just ”sexy vampires and sexual actions”
    that pulls me in. Yes, the males are sexy, but I pay more attention to the story, I like the clean artwork and the Victorian-style homes and clothing, the complicated and sometimes confusing storyline.”

    It’s not just ”I like it because the males are sexy, melodrama porn, etc etc.”
    To sum this up, I have to honestly say, I’m quite a bit offended by this review. (sorry, just had to say it) I mean, it’s kinda making people who like
    VK..well, seem like bad girls who want sex and look
    for Melodrama Porn. I’ve been reading VK, and really, it’s not because of the reasons you listed below. We can’t help it that Matsuri Hino draws art to look a bit sexualized. Besides, it’s quite unique, unlike some manga that just really shows…stupid and obvious sexuality, I’m not going to name examples in case some fan of that manga bashes me.

    In conclusion, this review irks me quite a bit, even if I never read VK. It shows such a strong opinion, and makes people who like VK look..bad.
    Did you review High School of the Dead yet? I’m looking forward to that.

  78. on 01 Dec 2011 at 1:42 pm Tessie

    **even for people who never read VK* sorry, quite a typo i made in the last paragraph.

  79. on 22 Jan 2012 at 2:32 am AshesFalling

    Wow, I just read all the reviews and in my personal opinion, I just find VK just plain boring and I just dropped it. There, I said it. Sorry, I really don’t mean to offend any fans but I’ve been trying to figure out my feelings for VK for a while now. I just can’t leave it alone so I have decided that I pretty much DISLIKE it. I kept hearing about how awesome it was so I tried to read it. First, I like to tell you that I am a fan of GOOD, funny, sweet shojo mangas, I LOVE love triangles, and a bit of drama, and I used to think vamps were cool. But vampire knight was a disappointment personally. I have to say the drawings are really pretty (although I still can’t decide if I like weird Yuki’s eyes or not). The plot was overly complicated and hard to understand for one, but the thing that really drove me crazy was Yuki’s character. Pardonnez moi, but she just seems so STUPID. It’s really feels like every waking moment, all she can talk about is“Oh, Kaname Sempai!” which really decrease any intellect she has and any respect I had for her. She’s dull, helpless and always the weakling who has to always be saved. Oh come on, for once, I’d like her to show some self respect. I really don’t find Kaname all that hot and amazing. **edited to cut spoilers** And Zero, I don’t really dislike him but he’s just so serious, tortured and angesty that it’s just painful to read about. The fact that most girls only like this manga because the characters are such pretty bishojos (which I’ve seen better) and don’t really think about the story is just annoying and unfair to other amazing mangas with great plots such as Skip Beat. I also dislike that it’s so darn serious and intense all the time. Where is the funny comic relief it started with? Kaien Crosss is probably my fav out of all the other sadistic characters cause he’s adorably funny:) And as to the whole VK sexual thing, I don’t really see that appeal because to me, their extreme willingness to subject to the whole “biting and blood drinking thing” shows their lack of dignity or self value. Sorry it’s so long but again, this is just my personal opinion, I don’t mean to offend, honest;)

  80. on 16 Feb 2012 at 10:02 pm Starla

    I have watched both seasons of the Vampire Knight anime and I have read the manga as well and I have to say that I personally do not care for Vampire Knight. The artwork was really good but I think the plotline is flat and boring, Yuki’s a Mary Sue, Zero’s a Gary Stu, and Kaname is just plain weird. Yuki is one of the biggest Mary Sues ever. She can’t fight , she always needs someone coming to her rescue, she’s passive, gets along great with everybody, she’s in a love triangle (**edited to cut spoilers**), and not to mention the whole always fangirling over Kaname thing! “Kaname sempai!” That’s so annoying! Zero is so emo all the time! I just don’t find him intresting! As a matter of fact about every character in Vampire Knight is a Mary Sue/Gary Stu! I figure that girls are fans of Vampire Knight probably cause of all the bishies in the series such as Kaname,Zero,Ichiru,Takuma,Aidou, Kain, and Haruka. (I have seen even better looking bishies in other anime/manga series. ) If you’re into vampires then this is the series for you.

  81. on 17 Feb 2012 at 12:11 am Ms. Rosa

    I hate Vampire Knight! I hate everything about it! The story and the characters!
    I hate Zero’s gutts, I hate Yuki’s gutts, I hate Ruka’s gutts, I hate Ichiru’s gutts, I hate Takuma’s gutts, and most off all I hate Kaname’s gutts!

  82. on 17 Feb 2012 at 3:10 pm Princess Jun

    I have watched seasons 1 and 2 of Vampire Knight and I also read the manga. The artwork is amazing I give it an 8 out of 10. But the plotline and the characters are dull to me . Vampire Knight just revolves around Yuki Cross who is a human attending a school for both vampires and humans. And she’s caught up in a love triangle with the main bishies of the series Kaname and Zero. **edited to cut insane spoilers, oi** I’m not into Vampire Knight. I figure if you’re into vampires, love triangles, and characters with angst past then Vampire Knight is the series for you. I also don’t see the big deal about the Vampire Knight girls and guys. How about Lelouch vi Britannia from Code Geass, Link from The Legend of Zelda, Dante from Devil May Cry, **edited to cut a gigantic list of fictional characters**. They’re the hottest animated guys and girls IMO. Move over Kaname,Zero, Ichiru,Takuma,Aido, Kain, Haruka, Yuki, Ruka, Shizuka, Juri, and Rima.

  83. on 21 Feb 2012 at 1:53 pm HeavenAngel

    Geeeez! That’s SO true!
    I generally don’t like shoujos, but this is like the most clicheed shoujo i’ve seen.

    there’s something incredibly ironical about the fact, that the manga/anime is supposed to be interesting with a great plot. But it’s actually the MOST clichee and uninteresting shoujo. :D
    You know, just like “This-is-not-you’re-average-shoujo-manga” but actually it IS.

    If you get what i mean. :D
    (sorry for my terrible english, it’s not my native language.)

    I think the whole manga is somewhat ridiculous.
    and yes, i AM a teenage girl. and I love cute stuff and whatever, but THIS is just to much for me.
    I will get diabetes from this manga.

  84. on 21 Feb 2012 at 4:08 pm Lianne

    I don’t know why we’re getting a sudden influx of comments for this old review, but guys, rant against Vampire Knight if you wish, but please follow these two simple rules:

    1.) Stop spoiling the f*ck out of it. Some people enjoy this series and don’t want to know ahead of time that Yuki is SPOILER and Kaname is thus SPOILER and SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER.

    2.) Keep your responses under 200,000,000 words.

  85. on 10 Dec 2012 at 11:07 pm Nancy

    Lianne you can be nice about it you don’t have to be so rude.I’m not going to get into any fights with you because I’m guessing you must be 10 years old.

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply